Academic Calendar

Summer Term 2019

JD/LLM-LE Summer Immersion (for 2L JD-LLM-LE students only)

Monday, May 13 - Friday, May 31

Durham, North Carolina

Monday, June 3 - Friday, June 7

Silicon Valley, California

Master’s Program in Judicial Studies (for MJS students only)

Monday, May 20

First Day of Class

Friday, June 14 

Last Day of Class

Leiden Summer Institute

Sunday, June 16

Orientation

Monday, June 17             

First Day of Class, Term I

Friday, June 28

Last Day of Class, Term I

Monday, July 1

First Day of Class, Term II

Friday, July 12

Last Day of Class, Term II

Monday, July 15 - Weds, July 17

Reading and Examination Period

Summer Institute on Law, Language & Culture (for International LLM students only)

Friday, July 19

Orientation

Monday, July 22

First Day of Class

Wednesday, August 14

Last Day of Class

Fall Term 2019

Career Development (Upper Level JD Students)

July 29 -  August 1 Monday-Thursday On-Campus Interviewing

LEAD Week / Orientation (incoming students)

August 19–23 Monday-Friday International LLM Students
August 20-23 Tuesday-Friday 1L JD Students
August 21 Wednesday LARW classes begin (times and rooms TBA)
Distinctive Aspects of US Law begins
August 22 Thursday
  • LARWINT classes begin (times and rooms TBA)
August 23 Friday 1 year LLM-LE students

Regular Semester

August 26 Monday
  • 1L Classes begin and Upper Level classes begin
September 2      Monday
  • Labor Day (no classes)
September 5 Thursday
  • Drop Add ends at 5:00 pm
September 6      Friday
  • Clinic Intensive Training
September 20 Friday Designated make-up day
October 7-11 Monday-Friday Fall Break (1L Writing Week)
October 18 Friday
  • Designated make-up day (no 1L make-ups)
October 21 Monday End of 7th week of classes
October 25 (Tentative)  Friday 1L Midterms
November 8                   Friday
  • Designated make-up day
November 26 Tuesday
  • Friday classes meet
Nov. 27 - Nov. 29 Wednesday - Friday
  • Thanksgiving Break
December 5 Thursday
  • Last day of classes
December 9 Monday
  • Examination Period Begins
December 20 Friday
  • Examination Period Ends

Wintersession Term 2020

Saturday-Wednesday, January 4-8, 2020

Spring Term 2020

January 6 and January 8 Monday and Wednesday LARW Writing Classes Meet
January 9 Thursday First Day of Classes
January 17     Friday
  • Drop Add period ends at 5:00 pm
January 16-20 Thursday-Sunday Intensive Trial Practice Weekend
January 20 Monday
  • Martin Luther King, Jr. Holiday (no classes)
January 24 Friday
  • Clinic Intensive
January 31           Friday
  • Designated make-up day (ends by 4:00 p.m.)
February 21        Friday Designated make-up day
February 27 Thursday End of 7th Week of classes
March 9 - March 13 Monday - Friday
  • Spring Break (no classes)
March 20             Friday
  • Designated make-up day
April 16 Thursday
  • Last day of class (Monday classes meet)
April 17 Friday
  • Reading and Examination period begins
May 1 Friday
  • Reading and Examination period ends
May 5    Tuesday
  • Graduating students clearing deadline at Noon
May 9 Saturday
  • Law School Convocation, diploma distribution
May 10 Sunday
  • University Commencement